Jane Doe 3

My story is similar to so many other young women on PEI. Years ago, at 16 I too had an unwanted pregnancy. I was a mess on drugs and in no way, shape or form ready to be a Mother. I was referred to Montreal as well. I had to walk through the petitioners calling me a murderer and a whore, at 16. It was devastating to say the least.

When I was home for about 2 weeks I woke up to a blood soaked bed. I was infected and very sick. I went to a local gynecologist who treated me like garbage. He ignored my medical condition and left me untreated for 6 months. I ended up having gangrene in one ovary and having it removed, the other was drained. He basically told my Mother not to worry about me getting knocked up again as I was probably sterile.

This part of my life left me depressed and scarred for many years.  Thankfully he was not only a crappy doctor but he was wrong. I was finally blessed with a baby at a much older age and when I was ready.  The medical treatment for women on PEI is barbaric and horrific.  They complain about the welfare system and about how many young single mothers there are on welfare.  Unwanted babies are more likely to be neglected and abused. Babies having babies. As women we not only NEED to have the right to safe and free abortions but the follow up care that ensures we stay healthy.  I want to say thank you to the women who are coming out with their stories. I apologize for not putting my name on this but I have an extended family that would be very embarrassed by my history.  All women – Stand tall and keep fighting for our rights.

 

Anonymous – PEI

