Nancy

My Story: I’ve read the stories and felt their pain. Such brave and wise women. They are our future. My story is about another demographic. Not one of anguish but of simply not wanting children.

My husband and I have been happily married for over 30 years. Neither of us ever wanted children. I  was wired this way, so was he. Luckily all our precautions regarding birth control worked but had we been ‘caught’, I would have aborted. How difficult would it have been to use the PEI medical system, being a married, professional with the financial resources and stability to explain a need for a termination? I suspect it would have been impossible.

And I ask, is there any other medical condition on PEI that requires two doctors to sign off prior to being sent to Halifax? I think not… It is none of their business.

Nancy – PEI

