Sally

My story: I found out I was pregnant when I was in college, almost 20 years ago now. My boyfriend and I were not serious, having only been dating for less than a year. At first I was excited, but the reality of the situation settled in quickly. My boyfriend wanted me to get an abortion, despite it being against his religion.

I decided it was the right choice so I went to see my family doctor whom I had known my whole life and who had prescribed my birth control for me. He told me that he didn’t agree with my choice, strongly advised against it and gave me no information about options to access abortion through the medical system. I had severe morning sickness at the time to which he told me that if I decided to keep the baby, he’d prescribe me some medicine to help with the nausea. What was unsaid but very clear, should I choose to terminate the pregnancy, there would be no medicine to help me be comfortable until my appointment.

I was devastated and shocked. I had no idea that doctors could refuse medical support like that. I called the Morgantaler Clinc in Halifax and made the appointment. I was a student and had no money. My boyfriend was working so he paid for the procedure and our travel over. I was lucky to have a trusted friend in Halifax that we could stay with. I felt very nervous going to to the appointment and yet in my heart I knew it was the right choice.

The evening after the procedure, I was a mess.  I cried all evening. I can’t remember what I was thinking now but just a jumble of crazy emotions. And that was the only time I every cried about this abortion.

I don’t feel guilty about it. It was the right choice for me and my boyfriend. I finished my education and we ended up staying together and have been married for many years now with children that we chose to have when the time was right for us.

Sally – PEI

