Jane Doe 21

My story: My story doesn’t involve an abortion, but it does touch on many issues with the health care on PEI.

In 2000, I was in my late teens & had protected sex only to realize there was an issue with the condom.  I didn’t have a family doctor at the time (issue #1), and the morning after pill was not available at pharmacies on PEI (issue #2), so I went to a walk in clinic.

There I waited for a couple of hours, and was finally called in to see the doctor.  I explained my situation, and was told a very bluntly that she did not offer such pills and I would have to go find help somewhere else.  I asked where, she suggested outpatients and said “maybe” there will be a doctor there willing to help.  I left that doctors office feeling shammed, like what I needed was illegal.

So off to the QEH I went, and again waited for hours (issue #3).  When I finally saw a doctor at emergency, he, reluctantly, gave me pills to ensure I would not become pregnant.  He wasn’t happy about it, but I honestly didn’t know if it was the fact he was against birth control, or because he was an emergency doctor forced to deal with something that could have easily been dealt with at the doctor’s office.  (issue #4)  Regardless, along with my shame, I was now feeling like a burden.  Just for asking for a little help from those who are suppose to supply it.

While our little Island has come along in some ways, how we treat women’s rights is appauling.  If I had given up on finding help what would have happened?  Another unwed mother on welfare trying to make ends meet in a system that is under supported and under funded.

We are only hurting our selves by not offering better support to the women who need it.  Its time to modernize our health care and give women control of their own bodies.

Anonymous – PEI

